General Passion for Self-Taught Engineering

Jonathan Weinberger
4 min readNov 9, 2020
Photo by Code to Create

It’s been a minute…With our state-funded programming taking flight and trying to onboard nearly 50+ people…it’s a busy time for GameDevHQ.

Something I’m always working on behind the scenes at GameDevHQ is course development. If you’re familiar with GameDevHQ, you know my passion is helping people learn to code by making video games and using that knowledge to go beyond gaming.

At the core of everything I do, I focus on the self-taught mindset. I’m proof, and thousands of my students are proof that you can learn to become an engineer without a traditional college education. Check out my first article on how I became a self-taught software engineer & game developer.

This article is about an exciting adventure beyond coding that I’m hoping to bring to life by collaborating with a brilliant engineer who knows so much more about electrical engineering than I do. I know I have a shit ton to learn before I can teach embedded systems confidently.

Just check out this dude.

--

--

Jonathan Weinberger

I’ve taught over 100,000 people how to code. I use game development as a gateway to software engineering. Learn more: https://gamedevhq.com